Play FLAC files on Symbian 5th edition mobile phones

Play FLAC files on Symbian 5th edition mobile phones

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

Referencing my old post about FLAC, and how I was fascinated by the great sound quality it offers. Also mentioned that I had the ability to play them in my old Nokia N70 using oggplay. Unfortunately, I have changed my mobile, and oggplay is not supported !, so I have either ways to go, convert my existing FLAC files to mp3, or find another alternative to oggplay.

As for the first option

you can try this on Ubuntu,

flac -cd "infile.flac" | lame -h - "outfile.mp3"

But of course, you must have both packages flac and lame installed, if not try this

sudo apt-get install flac
sudo apt-get install lame

as for the first command flac -cd

"d" to decode the FLAC file
"c" to write the output to stdout

and the second command lame -h,

"h" defines the sound quality for the output file, and can be replaced by -q {0-9} where 0 is the best quality. and Afaik is not related to the bitrate!

"-" which refers to the other dash, tells lame to take the input from the stdin. This clarifies the need for the "|" piping.

And regarding the second option

Actually, I tried to google for it a while ago but in vain, but while i was writing this post, i thought i might give it another try, and I found this post !! which mentions this open source project FolderPlay which enables you to browse your files and play them (*.FLAC included).

This not only eliminated the need to convert back to mp3 and sacrifice the sound quality but also eliminated the need to generate a playlist for each album, as I had to do with Nokia Music Player and Symbian Oggplay.

Viva Open Source :)